Pest Control Industry: Demonstrating Your Quality

The first European Pest Management Standard, BS EN 16636:2015 - Pest management services requirements and competences, and the accompanying certification scheme, CEPA Certified®, sets the benchmark for professional pest management. 

Promoted by CEPA (Confederation of European Pest Management Associations) and supported by supply-chain end users, this business standard is improving the quality of pest management services throughout Europe.

The driver for the introduction of this scheme arose from the presence of arthropods, rodents and other vertebrates and micro-organisms in proximity to humans due to changes in ecology, climate and human behavioural patterns, which introduced a significant threat to public health. These organisms are known to spread diseases, pathogens and allergens and may cause damage to personal property, structures, cause economic losses and have an impact on the reputation of commercial businesses. 

The Technical Committee (CEN) identified a clear necessity to develop a single common standard throughout Europe to demonstrate that pest management service providers following this standard offer a professional, recognised service, delivered by competent personnel. These pest management companies can demonstrate their commitment to providing a quality and safe service to minimise the risk for their clients and the impacts on the environment and animal welfare.  

With an aim to protect public health, assets and the environment, this European benchmark specifies the requirements for pest management services and levels of competences to be met by professional providers. 

It applies to pest management companies who are involved in the assessment, recommendation and execution of control and prevention procedures in respect of Integrated Pest Management (IPM). 

Please note, it does not apply to companies delivering services in the area of field crop protection and routine cleaning and disinfection associated with regular contract cleaning services. 

CEPA Certified®

Before the introduction of CEPA Certified®, there had been no national standards or licensing requirements in place for pest management companies. This made it difficult for consumers and businesses to choose a reputable supplier they could trust, but it also meant it was tough for smaller pest management companies to prove their quality when faced with competition from industry leaders. 

For the first time, CEPA Certified® is serving as a benchmark for the industry through which certified companies can demonstrate the ‘best practice’ and professionalism of their service and it is already proving invaluable to pest control companies operating in both domestic and commercial sectors.

What do you need to do?

For most companies, certification involves a one-day audit and a field visit to observe applied practice. Certification lasts for three years and includes a second surveillance audit, usually lasting half a day, half way through the certification period. 

The assessment covers everything from competence of staff and service, to client communication and record keeping for all pest management operations. To help companies prepare ahead of the certification process, CEPA has developed an easy-to-use, optional self-evaluation test. 

Once you have completed this test, an approved certification body such as Bureau Veritas can undertake an assessment to evaluate whether or not you meet the requirements. 

As a member of BPCA (British Pest Control Association), you can benefit from the opportunity to be independently audited to the BS EN 16636 standard by Bureau Veritas and achieve CEPA Certified® at a special membership rate. For more details on this opportunity, please contact us. 

Why choose Bureau Veritas? 

Bureau Veritas has worked closely with CEPA and other Associations to help shape the standard. We were the first certification body in the UK to issue CEPA certifications and we continue to take the lead in Europe, CEPA approved in 18 EU member states.

As a global leader in Testing, Inspection and Certification (TIC) services, Bureau Veritas is recognised worldwide for excellence and innovation. We serve more than 400,000 companies, delivering a wide range of solutions that go beyond compliance in a wide range of sectors. 

To discuss CEPA Certified® or to book an audit please call 0845 600 1828 or email

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China (Peoples' Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fidji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French West Indies
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint- Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa (Rep.)
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Other Websites
  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • South East Asia
Choose your industry, asset and / or service need
Your Industry

Your Asset

Our Services